Department of Library Services
+27 12 420 2235/6

Welcome to the Department of Library Services

The library of the University of Pretoria is regarded as one of the best university libraries in South Africa. It provides a comprehensive information service for the University's students and staff members.

The library focuses on supporting the learning needs of clients in the Learning Centre and providing customised research support through Faculty Libraries and two Research Commons (Main library RC | Groenkloof RC) in order to facilitate information and knowledge management in context of the University's core business. The main library includes the Learning Centre, Special Collections, Library Technical Services and the following faculty libraries:

- Economic & Management Sciences
- Natural & Agricultural Sciences
- Engineering & Built Environment
- Humanities (including Music)
- Theology

The other faculty libraries are the Oliver R Tambo Law Library, the Education Library (Groenkloof), the Mamelodi Library, the Jotello F Soga Library for Veterinary Science and the Health Sciences Libraries (Medical Library, Basic Medical Sciences & Dentistry Library, Klinikala, Weskoppies and Witbank) which are spread over five different locations.

The Department of Library Services strives to be the leader in the fields of information provision and knowledge management for academic excellence. Therefore, in addition to the traditional library services, the Library presents a holistic e-service to its clients, including e-books, e-journals, an institutional repository, customised web pages, knowledge tools, digitised full text local collections, a digital reference service and a MakerSpace.