Department of Library Services
+27 12 420 2235/6

Cataloguing Unit

  • The Unit is responsible for all functions necessary for the creation and maintenance of the library catalogue to make resources and collections accessible to facilitate research, teaching and learning
  • Original and copy cataloguing is performed within the cooperative environment of OCLC (Online Computer Library Center) and WorldCat, through optimization of the integrated applications of the cloud-based WorldShare Management Services (WMS)
  • Project-specific metadata are provided for digital projects
  • Cataloguing activities include descriptive cataloguing and authority maintenance, as well as subject analysis and classification of information resources in different formats and languages, including theses and dissertations and other research output of the University
  • These activities are conducted in accordance with international cataloguing practices and standards through a set of comprehensive cataloguing resources available on the Internet, i.e. Resource Description and Access (RDA), Library of Congress Subject Headings (LCSH), Dewey Decimal Classification System (DDC) and the MARC21 exchange format
  • In support of the Collection Development Policy, high standards are maintained through best practices and ongoing training. T he implementation of efficient and effective tools for cataloguing and metadata services enhance the global sharing of resources and research output

Staff members of the Cataloguing Unit

de Waal, Martha
Co-ordinator: Cataloguing

Tel.: +27 12 420 5308
E-mail: martha.dewaal@up.ac.za
Office: Hatfield Campus, Merensky 2 Library, Level 6
Breytenbach, Amelia
Cataloguer & Metadata Specialist

Tel.: +27 12 529 8391
E-mail: amelia.breytenbach@up.ac.za
Office: Onderstepoort Campus, Jotello F Soga Library
Fabris-Rotelli, Fay
Cataloguer

Tel.: +27 12 420 4798
E-mail: fay.fabris-rotelli@up.ac.za
Office: Hatfield Campus, Merensky 2 Library, Level 6
Ingram, Annette
Cataloguer & Trainer

Tel.: +27 12 420 4797
E-mail: annette.ingram@up.ac.za
Office: Hatfield Campus, Merensky 2 Library, Level 6
Kekana, Raesibe
Cataloguer

Tel.: +27 12 420 3620
E-mail: raesibe.kekana@up.ac.za
Office: Hatfield Campus, Merensky 2 Library, Level 6
Maritz, Marinda
Cataloguer

Tel.: +27 12 420 4701
E-mail: marinda.maritz@up.ac.za
Office: Hatfield Campus, Merensky 2 Library, Level 6
Meyer, Gertrud
Music Cataloguer

Tel.: +27 12 420 2056
E-mail: gertrud.meyer@up.ac.za
Office: Hatfield Campus, Merensky 2 Library, Level 6
Moreana, Mercia
Cataloguer

Tel.: +27 12 420 4705
E-mail: mercia.moreana@up.ac.za
Office: Hatfield Campus, Merensky 2 Library, Level 6